Testimonials

  • star rating  we hired bikes for a days cycle. great service and bikes were perfect for our needs.
    Chris actually dropped bikes off and collected them from us - amazing service. ... read more

    Cherie1420
    April 13, 2022

    star rating  We had an absolute blast. We are not regular bike riders so opted for the "cheat" version and hired e-bikes. Had plenty of time to stop... read more

    Stu D
    March 1, 2021

    star rating  What a fabulous weekend in Wanaka made all the more special by Wanaka Bikes Tours. There were 24 of us and we completed the beautiful bike trail between Lake Hawea... read more

    776leanne
    June 14, 2022

    star rating  From the outset the whole transaction was seamless. Ordering online was easy, the pick up by the operator Gary was smooth, the instructions he gave were invaluable and the e... read more

    Seve2902
    May 27, 2021

    star rating  I booked with Wanaka Tours to get a shuttle from Clyde to Cromwell with our bikes so we could then freely bike back to our vehicle in Clyde without rushing.... read more

    kitnacallaghan
    April 11, 2022

    star rating  We had an amazing day on our bike tour, it was such a cool experience and lots of photo opportunities and yum food stops along the way. Super helpful and... read more

    carolinemaggof17
    July 1, 2021

    star rating  Very simple and easy, from bike hire and options through to uplift and drop off, all under the guidance Chris.made for a great day thanks Chris

    dannyturnbull2022
    June 3, 2022

    star rating  Awesome day - great advice from the friendly guide who dropped us at lake Hawea. Such a special day with no admin to worry about.

    Oliviah19796
    August 10, 2021
  • star rating  I organized 19 men to have a week of cycling and walking in and around Lake Wanaka and Lake Hawea. I found Matt, Kirke, Gary and Broni excellent... read more

    Tom H
    February 1, 2021

    star rating  From the outset the whole transaction was seamless. Ordering online was easy, the pick up by the operator Gary was smooth, the instructions he gave were invaluable and the e... read more

    Tipa
    May 1, 2021

    star rating  Great bikes and a beautiful track to follow back to Wanaka. Our guide gave us some helpful tips and showed us where to begin. I’ve done the ride before and... read more

    cathycharles2021
    May 1, 2021

    star rating  Big thanks for a stunning experience. Probably harder and longer than we anticipated, need to have reasonably good biking capability. Definitely pack some snacks!

    judilewis
    July 19, 2022

    star rating  Bikes and helmets were in great condition. Bronnie shuttled us to our start location and she was so friendly and knowledgeable. Would 100% recommend using this company.

    lanzrose
    April 18, 2022

    star rating  My wife, who is not a confident rider, had a little mishap on one of the trails. Wanaka Bike Tours came and picked us up and took us back to... read more

    mvalentinemd
    March 3, 2022

    star rating  I organized 19 men to have a week of cycling and walking in and around Lake Wanaka and Lake Hawea.

    I found Matt, Kirke, Gary and Broni excellent... read more

    hughestravels2016
    February 28, 2021

    star rating  Matt was very flexible and informative and the bikes were in excellent condition. This, combined with some cracking weather and a spectacular scenic route made our day brilliant.

    vmrayner
    July 25, 2022
  • star rating  We had an absolute blast. We are not regular bike riders so opted for the "cheat" version and hired e-bikes. Had plenty of time to stop... read more

    Stu D
    March 27, 2021

    star rating  Fantastic day made extremely easy by the great service, information and bikes provided for our 30km ride from Lake Hawea back to Wānaka. Stunning scenery, delicious fuel stop at... read more

    Joanne R
    February 28, 2022

    star rating  Highly recommend. We absolutely loved our day on the trail and Bronny is so lovely and helpful. We will be back to do Lake Dunstan sometime. Cheers

    shannonb2022804
    May 12, 2022

    star rating  Great service for setting up, collecting and returning e-bike hire which ensured a hassle-free ride on the Dunstan Trail. Friendly and helpful interactions with staff. The bike was well maintained... read more

    979suenz
    March 15, 2022

    star rating  We had a great days biking this trail. Thanks to Wanaka Bike Tours who made the whole day easy to organise with bike hire and shuttles back and forth.... read more

    303joanna
    September 1, 2021

    star rating  Fantastic trail to ride. Wanaka Bike Tours were super easy to deal with and organised the whole trip, providing us with bikes & equipment, advice and a map.

    MattRowbotham
    March 10, 2022

    star rating  The crew were helpful and arranged everything. Great experience, we would certainly book this time and time again!

    leeT7064VF
    July 5, 2022

    star rating  Incredible cycle from Lake Hayes to Wanaka. We had a group of 15, all with differing levels of experience. We all had fun, and the scenery was phenomenal.

    Nartz01
    April 11, 2022
  • star rating  Great experience and simple to organise. Operator friendly, knowledgeable and punctual with good bikes. The scenery was amazing !

    Andrea B
    July 1, 2021

    star rating  Well organised. Excellent information and briefing. Track from Hawea to swing bridge best ever. Stopped in Albert Town did lunch and up the Clutha home. Great experience.

    mkinder2021
    May 1, 2021

    star rating  Great experience and simple to organise. Operator friendly, knowledgeable and punctual with good bikes. The scenery was amazing !

    Z1552TPandreab
    August 10, 2021

    star rating  Awesome service. Last minute booking and everything went very smoothly - bikes in great condition - had a blast on the Dunstan Trail.

    hullaballoo1965
    April 13, 2022

    star rating  Fantastic customer service, efficient helpful and friendly. I accidentally booked to wrong day and the team were so helpful to accommodate us when it was my mistake. Beautiful scenery and... read more

    clairejep
    May 3, 2022

    star rating  Great quality bikes, we enjoyed the route around Lake Wanaka to Albert Town. Recommend a packed lunch for a picnic.

    amandatomnz
    April 11, 2022

    star rating  Cycling the Lake Dunstan Cycleway was such a great experience for us. This was made all the better for the awesome service provided by Wanaka Bike Tours. Broni went out... read more

    742steffym
    March 5, 2022

    star rating  Awesome day - great advice from the friendly guide who dropped us at lake Hawea. Such a special day with no admin to worry about.

    Olivia H
    July 1, 2021
  • star rating  Being out independently by the beautiful Clutha and Hawea rivers. Great way to see the stunning scenery. Easy biking and great service. Thanks Mark.

    Crescent1004
    September 1, 2021

    star rating  Fantastic customer service, efficient helpful and friendly. I accidentally booked to wrong day and the team were so helpful to accommodate us when it was my mistake. Beautiful scenery and... read more

    clairejep
    May 3, 2022

    star rating  Great quality bikes, we enjoyed the route around Lake Wanaka to Albert Town. Recommend a packed lunch for a picnic.

    amandatomnz
    April 11, 2022

    star rating  Cycling the Lake Dunstan Cycleway was such a great experience for us. This was made all the better for the awesome service provided by Wanaka Bike Tours. Broni went out... read more

    742steffym
    March 5, 2022

    star rating  Awesome day - great advice from the friendly guide who dropped us at lake Hawea. Such a special day with no admin to worry about.

    Olivia H
    July 1, 2021

Sally Tan
Sally Tan
2021-12-22
一个迷惑的世界😀
Tina Rouse
Tina Rouse
2021-04-21
We had really great service,the bikes were awesome. Everything was explained to us with good detail. We'd advise anyone to do this ride. I haven't been on a bike for 12 years and coped well👍
Dawn Chan
Dawn Chan
2021-01-09
Brett Shilcock
Brett Shilcock
2021-01-08
Had an amazing time riding along the beautiful Hawea and Clutha rivers.....such amazing scenery. Matt provided us with lots of information on what to look for along the way. A must do.
Dmitri Stern
Dmitri Stern
2020-12-28
Booked bike rental and shuttle services for our cycling trip from lake Hawea to Wanaka. Communication was fast and to the point. The shuttle pickup was on time, comfy ride and great scenery with abundant local commentary from our friendly driver - Tom. The bikes are of top notch quality, performed very well and despite us venturing out from Albert Town to Luggate half way - the battery charge held really well. We’ve done 70+ km in one day. Pickup in Wanaka was smooth and effortless, on time. Very friendly crew. Enjoyable ride. Would highly recommend these guys.
Barry Dillon
Barry Dillon
2020-10-28
Matt was very accommodating when I changed my rental at short notice. Giant Trance XL bike was excellent and handled the trail to Glendhu bay superbly. Tom was a great help. Both great guys. Will be straight onto Wanaka bike tours for our next trip. Barry
Matt Phillips
Matt Phillips
2020-10-17
What a great way to see Lake Hawea and Wanka. Best thing we've done on our trip.
Darrin Hughes
Darrin Hughes
2020-10-12
Excellent family day out amongst stunning scenery on a beautiful Central Otago day. Matt made sure we had everything we needed in the way of e-bikes and, when we did have a issue with a chain breaking, he responded immediately with a replacement bike which enabled us to complete the cycle track. We would thoroughly recommend this Activity for anyone holidaying in Wanaka.
Hohepa Cumming
Hohepa Cumming
2020-10-06
Amazing experience. The highlight of our south island trip!! Cheers Matt
John Hutchings
John Hutchings
2020-08-06
Matt and Tom at WBT we’re great. Foggy day up the hill. Next best adventure- e-bikes around the foreshore then up the Clutha and around the superb Deans Bank Track. Perfect. Seamless. Bikes worked well and picked up after our ride by Tom -friendly and professional, while we were enjoying our apres beer at a Lake front cafe.

Wanaka Bike Tours
4.9
Based on 64 reviews
powered by Facebook
Gary Bedford
Gary Bedford
2022-04-02T05:13:33+0000
we were from out of town and felt the driver took if for granted we knew the area. I would recommend giving a printed... map. One of the bikes didn't change gears properly and the battery went flat before the end. When we told him he didn't seem to be concerned.read more
Jacquelyn Dagg
Jacquelyn Dagg
2021-08-04T05:35:24+0000
Seamless experience start to finish sent Matt a text confirmed Bikes we needed and tour we wanted picked up by the... Lovely Gary who gave us detailed instructions and title bits of local information. Great experience highly recommend these guys ....Happy days!read more
Steve Lavender
Steve Lavender
2020-03-02T08:30:23+0000
My wife and I had a great ride today (2 March 2020) from Lake Hawea to Wanaka. The bikes were just right for us and the... briefing from the rep (Ruby) was spot on. Thoroughly enjoyable.read more
Ray Kennedy
Ray Kennedy
2020-01-21T21:32:06+0000
Great people, easy to set up, e bikes high quality, great trail/ride
Jaz HokiBaker
Jaz HokiBaker
2019-12-23T10:20:44+0000
Fabulous bikes, clear instructions, fun guides and a seriously Bwediful track. Great fun for the whole family!! our... family of 9 thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend the E-Bikes and this company. Thanks for a truly wonderful day.read more
Li Ne
Li Ne
2019-11-13T07:37:38+0000
What a great day around Wanaka lake by bike! We really enjoyed that beautiful landscape we pass through 🙂 Great... bikes, great organisation!read more
Stephanie Galea
Stephanie Galea
2019-10-07T01:39:06+0000
Great bike ride, highly recommended 😍😊🥳👏🏻
Keziah Muir
Keziah Muir
2019-09-23T22:20:01+0000
Good fun! Good people! Easy track!
Michael Rieson
Michael Rieson
2019-09-22T23:01:37+0000
A great experience and ride.Great bikes and advice.Beautiful place to ride.
Kevin Westbury
Kevin Westbury
2019-04-14T22:21:24+0000
Helpful, friendly and caring. Stunning ride from Lake Hawea to Wanaka
Alison Jones
Alison Jones
2019-03-05T10:00:58+0000
Excellent morning spent with Dave on our first heli-bike trip! Thank you Dave for your expert guidance! Thank you Danni... for your welcome and reassurance! Absolutely recommend!read more
Karl H. Funke
Karl H. Funke
2019-02-20T03:23:11+0000
Fantastic experience... Heli biking with Wanaka Bike Tours
Alan Dalgarno
Alan Dalgarno
2019-02-14T03:40:26+0000
Fantastic Guide. Great day out.
Sara Matheson
Sara Matheson
2019-01-25T20:06:36+0000
Very awesome family heli biking trip yesterday ! Amazing scenery, great varied terrain and Danni our guide ensured... everyone got what they needed to maximise their trip ( from our youngest to us - particularly awesome with the kids ) You also learn lots about the area from your guide. Great family adventure!read more
Linda Hardman
Linda Hardman
2019-01-09T22:43:23+0000
Wanaka bike tours were able to facilitate myself and my 2 children at very short notice. The facilitator was pleasant,... thorough and fun. Safety and the bikes were of the highest standard. The route we choose was stunning . They did their upmost to provide a very enjoyable experience. Highly recommended 👌read more
Michele Frix
Michele Frix
2019-01-01T11:20:05+0000
My husband and I worked with Wanaka Bike Tours, and we cannot recommend them enough! Super easy to book our trip and... our guide was the best - gave us a great explanation and we had a terrific day out in the sunshine!read more
Pamuela Hodson
Pamuela Hodson
2018-12-29T08:08:55+0000
We had just arrived in town and needed something to do. We stopped at the information center and Liz recommended the... bike ride. The ride was fabulous. We were dropped off at the trail head at Lake Hawea given a few instructions and a map and we were on our way. This was an awesome ride. Thank you Wanaka Bike Tours.read more
Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
2018-12-22T08:44:58+0000
We did the Max Vert Heli bike, it was genuinely excellent. Dan and Dani were our guides and they were helpful and... knowledgeable throughout the tour. 100% would do it again.read more
Elizabeth Jane Klusik
Elizabeth Jane Klusik
2018-11-09T22:11:47+0000
I bring a crew of students over every year and riding with Dan and his crew is ALWAYS on our ‘to do’ list!!Nothing is... a problem, the bikes are first class, the guides have great knowledge of the gorgeous area, and they treat us like family !! YOU MUST COME TO WANAKA AND RIDE WITH WANAKA BIKE TOURS!!They even remember coffee!!read more
Jana Somerville
Jana Somerville
2018-03-29T08:43:55+0000
We had a great day! We booked the self-guided tour from Lake Hawea back to Wanaka. Dan picked us up on time, briefed... us on the order of the day and then drove us to Lake Hawea while pointing interesting stuff along the road. We got detailed info (pictures included) about our ride, tested the bikes and were on our way. The track from Hawea to Wanaka offers some stunning views, you will want to stop for photos or just to take it all in every 5 seconds. The trail is easy enough even for rookie mountain bikers like me, I had a lot of fun especially in the section along the Clutha river. The whole track is about 30km with plenty of opportunities to stop for a breather if needed. The bikes were in great condition and very reliable, really appreciated the gel seat covers and kick stands. Dan and his team just go the extra mile to give their clients an unforgettable experience.read more
Ben Boddy
Ben Boddy
2018-03-21T05:32:26+0000
Myself and 4 friends did the heli biking from Wanaka. It was the most extreme and beautiful few hours of riding I have... ever experienced. Dan was great in making all the arrangements, and Bob was an awesome guide. Considering the price of a scenic flight alone, this activity is great value. It’s something you can’t do in many places, so if you are into riding I would highly recommend it.read more
Anne Cottrell
Anne Cottrell
2018-01-14T21:12:15+0000
Dan led us on a great tour of Wanaka's finest trails. We were all at different skill levels but he found trails to... accommodate everyone. Bikes were great and we were able to extend our rental for an extra day.read more
Carl Willis
Carl Willis
2018-01-02T10:22:45+0000
Hey Dan - thx again for the awesome ride down from Mount Pisa this morning. 5/5 without a pause. Hey - the pictures you... took of our ride down are really good as well. You have a photographer's eye.read more
Esther van Heumen
Esther van Heumen
2017-11-26T01:14:40+0000
Simply awesome. Did the helibike tour from mount Pica (highest). Was just the best thing ever.
Yvonne Mosimann
Yvonne Mosimann
2017-11-01T03:20:48+0000
Just amazing!
Nikki Provencal
Nikki Provencal
2017-10-30T00:41:23+0000
Mountain biking in Wanaka is a must-try! Dan is an exceptional guide- really knowledgeable on the area and technique,... and also a patient teacher. I would highly recommend Wanaka Bike Tours for a memorable experience!read more
Connor Mills
Connor Mills
2017-10-26T22:21:13+0000
Had a great time! Awesome way to see Wanaka if you aren’t there very long. Great tour guide and even better views 🙂... 10/10 would do it again!read more
Elana Perilstein
Elana Perilstein
2017-10-24T08:13:46+0000
We had the best trip with Wanaka Bike Tours! Great, personalized customer service. Dan was an awesome host. Hope to be... in Wanaka again in the future to go for another ride �read more
Georgia Powell
Georgia Powell
2017-09-29T01:26:12+0000
We had such a wonderful ride and experience with Wanaka Bike Tours. Beautiful scenery, great organisation by Dan. Thank... you �read more
Stephen Mc Shane
Stephen Mc Shane
2017-07-04T01:40:29+0000
Thanks very much for a great day. Highly recommended the experience dan offers. Ps sorry for getting the bike so dirty... read more
Shane Newton
Shane Newton
2017-04-25T05:41:49+0000
Bart Jonker
Bart Jonker
2017-04-11T05:57:30+0000
Clare Dickie
Clare Dickie
2017-04-10T08:17:59+0000
Great ride on a brisk April Day. Our route was easy to navigate and gave us a chance to see the lakes in their autumn... splendour!read more
Gary Fennessy
Gary Fennessy
2017-03-17T21:36:15+0000
Awesome experience. Never done this before and thought it might be tame. One of the best activities I've done in nz.... Watch where you are going though. You'll be distracted by the amazing scenery.read more
Carl Davies
Carl Davies
2017-02-14T00:05:48+0000
I booked a once in a lifetime trip, a twelve day South Island trip starting in Nelson and finishing in Queenstown, in... December, 2016. The whole trip was incredible, well organised, fantastic scenery, great accommodation and the trails were second to none. Dan, Dave and Kat looked after our party of 6, with great attention to detail, all through the trip. Dan had even organised local guides in some places, some of whom had built the trails we were riding, so knew them intimately. Every day the riding was a little different and each day you thought that the riding couldn't possibly get any better, but the next day it always did! Some highlights were 'the Old Ghost Road' (heli drop), Alexandra (which was very similar to some of the riding back home in Wales), Craigieburn, Dean's Bank (Wanaka) and of course the finale, Rude Rock (Queenstown). Our group gelled well and my riding improved through the holiday, just watching and learning from everyone's different styles. The trip wasn't cheap (for me) but was great value for money. It won't be the last time I visit New Zealand and will definitely be in touch with Dan when I return. Thanks to Dan and all the team, from a stoked Carl Davies.read more
Fraser Houston
Fraser Houston
2017-02-12T05:54:52+0000
Great company and super friendly/helpful staff. Tracks and guides to accommodate all abilities, thanks for a great day... Dan!read more
Fritz Gerstner
Fritz Gerstner
2017-01-30T23:38:59+0000
Dragoş Arnăutu
Dragoş Arnăutu
2016-12-29T06:50:02+0000
Toby Forrest
Toby Forrest
2016-12-22T08:58:58+0000
We had a fantastic day today! Dan couldn't have been more patient with my wife and it was brilliant! Great tuition,... organisation and magnificent scenery!!! Don't hesitate! Book it!read more
Carine Ch Be
Carine Ch Be
2016-11-20T09:32:27+0000
Max Vert trip this morning, so an amazing day !! Beautiful day for Helibiking !!For helicopter, biking, nice scenery,... and kindly guide !!!read more
Sue Haxton
Sue Haxton
2016-05-08T05:49:37+0000
We had an awe-inspiring day doing the Max Vert with John today! Challenging, scenic, great bikes and an even greater... guide! Thanks for your patience and encouragement, John.read more
Mia Gammon
Mia Gammon
2016-04-21T09:03:04+0000
Hired bikes to cruise around the town with the kids. Bikes were perfect for our needs. They were in great condition and... well maintained. Dan's advice was extremely helpful. Would love to return for a long ride or helibike experience - thanks.read more
Travis Hamel Olsen
Travis Hamel Olsen
2016-03-26T21:33:24+0000
Great time out there. Dan is super friendly. He connected us to the "advanced trail" which was perfect for my riding... level. Great way to start the day!read more
Kaz Dalby
Kaz Dalby
2016-03-25T05:41:34+0000
What a cool day with awesome people! Dan pulled it out the bag for us and Dave was a fantastic guide! Great fun- Max... Vert was epic! The Pisa Range was amazing! If you like speed and xc style tracks then this is for you! Wanaka- I'll be back!!read more
Tracy Stephenson
Tracy Stephenson
2016-01-20T21:31:49+0000
Thanks Dan & Dave!! Awesome experience for the whole family
Zaidan Zainuddin
Zaidan Zainuddin
2015-04-19T09:21:37+0000
We had an awesome experience with Dan!Had fun riding the sticky forest trails and of course admiring the view of Wanaka... through the XC trails!Definitely recommending Dan for our future friends that will be riding in New Zealand!read more
Leah Lenehan
Leah Lenehan
2015-04-15T21:11:32+0000
Thanks for a brilliant day on the helicopter and mountain bikes Dan, was a highlight of NZ!!
Laura Warrick Piwetz
Laura Warrick Piwetz
2015-02-11T07:24:34+0000
Thank you for a great trip, Dan! The views were incredible and the ride was a lot of fun, despite my big spill! 🙂
Damian Harvey
Damian Harvey
2015-01-06T02:28:04+0000
Loved the Lake McKay trip today Dan. Superb. Aiming to do it again soon.
Manuela Steinke
Manuela Steinke
2014-12-21T20:19:25+0000
This trip was by far the best thing I have done in a long time: it was amazing to see the world from a helicopter, to... be guided by an outstanding knowledgeable, passionate and patient guide, to be part of an awesome team which took extremely good care of me and to finally get to the point where I did not want to stop biking :)! I can highly recommend to book a trip with Dan, it's an experience of a lifetime you won't forget.All the best Dan, keep up your great work.read more
Samuel A J Logan
Samuel A J Logan
2014-05-05T10:42:46+0000
Kerry Heffer
Kerry Heffer
2014-05-03T10:56:37+0000
We can not thank wanaka bike tours enough and everyone that got on board with todays 'epic' experience. We are all... still in shock with how much you all have helped, and given us a fun filled day that we won't forget! you all went over and beyond! Thank you to perryn and the crew 🙂read more
Kate Reynolds
Kate Reynolds
2014-03-19T06:00:53+0000
Absolutely love love loved our 3 days with Perryn... what a chick! This was the best biking trip we have ever done. 2... days of heli-biking and 1 day of the cross country and we cannot get the smiles off our faces. Thanks for the adventure Wanaka bike tours - conquering a mountain is the best feeling in the world 🙂read more
Katharina Laserer
Katharina Laserer
2014-03-19T06:00:30+0000
As Austrian I love the mountains and it is really hard to impress me, as I live in a place like Wanaka. But this was... definitely one of the best mountain experiences I have made in my life. Additionally this is not only for experienced downhillers but also for everybody who loves biking. So don't waste your time with skydives and bungeejumps - go helibiking and enjoy a whole day of adrenaline!Thanks so much Perynn for this awesome trip!read more
Laura Hodgson
Laura Hodgson
2014-01-30T05:35:10+0000
LOVED every mnute of our trip...Perryn was awesome and instantly made me feel at ease! The views all the way down were... AWESOME and never going to forget jumping into a chopper with bikes attached...bit surreal! Want to go again and again and again 🙂read more
Pepijn van Amstel
Pepijn van Amstel
2014-01-22T17:37:28+0000
thx for the great heli bike ride ... it was awesome and I am still mega stoked 🙂
Jake R Levaillant
Jake R Levaillant
2014-01-21T08:47:55+0000
Reuben Miller
Reuben Miller
2014-01-16T08:41:41+0000
Thanks to full blown for one hell of a trip. Epic views and trails smiles for miles! 5 stars will be back for sure!!
Ceylan Bekar
Ceylan Bekar
2013-12-17T23:24:43+0000
An awesome day out with amazing guides!! Thanks Dan and Rusty 🙂
Matt Duffy
Matt Duffy
2013-12-08T19:54:09+0000
James Allan
James Allan
2013-12-08T07:16:55+0000
epic views, great trails, friendly staff, amazing trip highly recommended!
Gavin Brock
Gavin Brock
2013-12-05T17:37:03+0000
Jared Brown
Jared Brown
2013-12-05T08:26:00+0000
Friendly staff that go out of their way to ensure you have an awsome experiance. Well recommended!!
Scott Reilly
Scott Reilly
2013-12-05T06:22:00+0000
Next Reviews